Newsclips and Archive

Women Pastors Association

On the 21th of Janary 2018, the first assembly of WOPA (Women Pastors Association) was held in Lushoto whereby 7 women pastors who are serving in different institutions and parish met. The invited guests were three female deacons Mwalilei Mwambashi, Rehema Mbura and Mary Tewele. Others were female theologians Nuru Mwakapusya and Juliana Mahundo who expect to be ordained in July 2018. The guest of honor was the assistant to the Bishop, Rev. Dr. Eberhardt Ngugi who made the official opening of the first WOPA General Assembly. He preached on Romans 8:37.


The Principal Dean with all women pastors currently serving in the NED together with women theologians and deacons who were among the invitees.

30th June 1991 will always be remembered as a unique day in the history of North Eastern Diocese of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania (NED-ELCT). This event took place on the closing day of Jubilee celebrations of 10 decades (100 years) of the gospel in our Diocese. In the service, the three first women theologians were ordained to be pastors. The first women theologians who graduated from their theological studies at Makumira Lutheran Theological College at that time, now known as Tumaini University Makumira. These were Ms Sabina Kihiyo (later known as Sabina Kihiyo Lumwe) who graduated in 1983, then followed Ms Joyce Sheshui (later Joyce Kibanga) who graduated in 1986. The third one was Mrs Anneth Munga who came from the Southern Diocese. She graduated in 1989. These three women are the ones who were ordained at Mlalo on 30th June 1991. The worship service was led by the late Rt. Rev. Dr. Sebastian Kolowa  and Bishop Elinaza Sendoro (Retired Bishop of East and Coastal Diocese).

Chairperson of WOPA, Rev. Neema Kamendu (right) and Secretary, Rev. Dr. Anneth Munga, holding a copy of the Chairperson's annual report to the General Assembly of WOPA.


                                one of the first ordained female pastors

The decision on the ordination of women theologians in the ELCT was made in 1990 by the General Assembly of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania. The Diocese of Iringa was the first one in ordaining female theologians in the beginning of 1991 followed by the North Easern Diocese.

The second group of female theologians who were later ordained are Pastors Alice Kopwe, Neema Kamendu, Lemmi Kakai, Happiness Shoo and Happyness Diu.

  Rev. Neema Kamendu - Chairperson (Middle), Rev. Dr. Anneth Munga  - Secretary (Left) and Rev. Happiness Shoo - Treasurer (Right).